
 

 Child Care is Essential 2025 
H-5281 (Diaz)/ S-0240 (Vargas) 

 

Families need access to affordable, high-quality child care so parents 

can work, and children can learn and thrive. Experts agree that 9 

out of 10 families cannot afford child care. The average cost of 

child care for an infant enrolled in a Rhode Island licensed child care 

center is $16,899/year. Using the federal affordability guidelines, this makes infant care unaffordable for 

any Rhode Island family earning less than $241,000/year. 

 

Fewer Families Helped Now Compared to 20+ Years Ago 

 

 
The 2025 Rhode Island Child Care is Essential Act 
 

1. Allows more families to qualify for the RI Child Care Assistance Program by raising the family income 

limits to qualify for the Child Care Assistance Program to the federal Child Care and Development Block Grant 

benchmark, 85% of the state median family income and raises the “exit” income limit to 100% of the state median  

family income.  
 

2. Eliminates child support enforcement as an eligibility requirement. Rhode Island would join 41 other 

states by keeping child care eligibility aligned with all other early learning programs that do not require families to 

establish paternity/parentage or seek child support to participate.  
 

3. Creates a separate rate for infants under the age of 18 months that is 50% higher than the toddler rate to 

provide revenue parity with toddler classrooms so that the wages of infant teachers can be increased, closed infant 

classrooms can reopen, and waiting lists can be shortened.  

 

4. Adjusts rates for the RI Child Care Assistance Program to comply with the federal equal access standard 

by meeting or exceeding the current federal equal access standard (75th percentile of the 2024 RI Child Care Market 

Rate Survey) for all ages and settings. 

 

5. Adopts payment practices in alignment with the 2024 federal rules for the Child Care Development Fund 

to mirror payment practices in the private child care market.  
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https://webserver.rilegislature.gov/BillText/BillText25/HouseText25/H5281.pdf
https://webserver.rilegislature.gov/BillText/BillText25/SenateText25/S0240.pdf


 

The Rhode Island Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) is managed by the Rhode Island Department 

of Human Services (DHS) and helps families pay for child care. Eligible low-income families are approved for 

a certificate they can use to enroll their children (birth – age 12) at a child care program that accepts the certificate. 

DHS pays child care programs based on rates that are set in statute. Some families are assessed a copayment that 

they pay directly to the child care program.  

 

Helping More Families - Current and Proposed Family Income Eligibility Limits for Family of 3 
 

 Current RI Law 2025 Child Care is Essential Goal 

Entrance $69,557  
≤ 261% of the federal poverty level  

$89,484 
≤85% of State Median Family Income* 

Exit $79,950 
≤ 300% of the federal poverty level  

$105,276 
≤100% of State Median Family Income* 

*Federal Eligibility Benchmark. States use the LIHEAP method to calculate.  

Note: There are at least 18 states that meet or exceed the federal benchmark for child care eligibility (85% of State 

Median Income), including Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, and Vermont.  

Addressing the Infant Care Shortage  
 

The Child Care is Essential bill provides a 50% CCAP rate increase for infants under age 18 months to account for 

the increased staffing requirements for infants (4 infants for 1 teacher) versus toddlers (6 toddlers for 1 teacher).  

 

Adjusting Child Care Assistance Program Rates to Meet Federal Equal Access Standards 

 

 1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars 

Infant/Toddler Current Rate $278 $284 $296 $303 $315 

Infant/Toddler Proposed Rate $356* $363 $371 $378 $385 

Preschool Current Rate $236 $247 $255 $263 $273 

Preschool Proposed Rate $312* $320 $329 $337 $345 

School-Age Current Rate $210 $215 $231 $250 $263 

School-Age Proposed Rate $280* $287 $295 $303 $310 

* Equal Access Benchmark (75th percentile of the 2024 RI Child Care Market Rate Survey) 

 

Note: There are 17 states that meet or exceed the federal equal access standard for rates (75th percentile of the 

Market Rate Survey), including New York and Vermont.  

 

Adopting Payment Practices Consistent with Federal Rules 

 

• Adopts a prospective payment methodology, paying for child care at the beginning of the service period 

rather than after it is over, to comply with federal rules. 

• Establishes a definition for full-time care (30-45 hours per week), create a new definition for children 

who need more than 45 hours of care per week “super full-time care” (45 – 60 hours per week), and 

establish a rule that no child will be enrolled in the Child Care Assistance Program for more than 60 hours 

per week. 

• Requires the Department of Human Services to pay an annual registration fee for each child enrolled in 

a child care center through the Child Care Assistance Program equivalent to the amount paid to family 

child care providers. 


